Home » Blog » What sanctions were imposed by the US, UK, Australia and New Zealand on the anniversary of the war
Defense Economy Europe Featured News Politics Russia United Kingdom

What sanctions were imposed by the US, UK, Australia and New Zealand on the anniversary of the war

Plastic letters arranged to read "Sanctions" are placed in front of EU and Ukraine's flag colors in this illustration taken February 25, 2022. REUTERS/Dado Ruvic/Illustration

The US, UK, Australia and New Zealand imposed new anti-Russian sanctions on February 24, the anniversary of the full-scale war in Ukraine.

Who is under US sanctions ?

  • Energy Minister Nikolai Shulginov, Minister of Culture Olga Lyubimova, Minister of Sports Oleg Matytsin, Minister of Labor Anton Kotyakov, Minister of Emergency Situations Alexander Kurenkov, Minister of Digital Development Maksut Shadayev and Deputy Prime Minister Tatyana Golikova.
  • VGTRK journalist Olga Skabeeva.
  • Technopark “Skolkovo” and “related companies”.
  • Zaporozhye NPP.
  • 11 banks, including St. Petersburg, Uralsib, Moscow Credit Bank and MTS Bank.
  • 30 companies from third countries that helped Russia circumvent sanctions, including with arms trafficking and funding.

The US will impose a 200% duty on imports of aluminum and aluminum products from Russia from March 10. In total, more than 200 individuals were included in the updated US sanctions list.

Who is on the UK sanctions list:

  • Banks “St. Petersburg”, “Uralsib”, Bank “Zenith” and “MTS-Bank”.
  • Head of the Ministry of Digital Development Maksut Shadayev.
  • Managing Director of Nord Stream AG Matthias Warning.
  • Deputy Mayor of Moscow Maxim Liksutov.
  • Chairman of the Board of Directors of Gazprom Viktor Zubkov.
  • Governor of the Tula region Alexei Dyumin.
  • Mother of Alina Kabaeva Love.
  • The son of the deputy head of the presidential administration, Dmitry Kozak, Alexei.
  • Top managers of Gazprom, Rostec, Aeroflot and Almaz-Antey.

The UK has banned the export to Russia of “every item that has been found to be used by Russia on the battlefield”: aviation parts, radio equipment and electronic components.

What measures has Australia taken ? Australia has sanctioned 90 individuals and 40 legal entities. In particular:

  • Manufacturers of military equipment “Kalashnikov”, “Admiralty Shipyards”, “Tupolev” and the State Missile Center named after Makeev.
  • Skolkovo Foundation, Skoltech company and Sputnik news agency.
  • Head of the Russian Orthodox Church, Patriarch Kirill.
  • Publicist and philosopher Alexander Dugin.
  • Head of the Central Election Commission (CEC) Ella Pamfilova.
  • Deputy Prime Ministers Alexander Novak, Alexei Overchuk, Victoria Abramchenko, Tatiana Golikovva and Denis Manturov.

What sanctions did New Zealand impose ? The New Zealand sanctions list includes 87 Russians – politicians, members of the CEC and the military, who played an active role in the invasion of Ukraine. Against whom exactly the measures were introduced, the government’s message did not specify.

source: paperpaper